free website trackingRealtime Web Statistics

Alumni Department

The Alumni Department is a strong department in this organization. All members of this department must be a graduate of the George  T. Grier School of Ushering with 32 hours of credit.
The department serves as the benevolent arm of this organization.

To give assistance to our School of Ushering.
To usher at the National Convention.
To provide trained competition for the School of Ushering in the field of contested.
To usher at our sister churches when requested to do so.,


Alumni Department meets on the 4th Monday of the month at 6:00 p.m at Lawton St Community Center.

Anita Barnett – Chairman


The Alumni Department was reorganized in 1983 by President Kathleen Johnson Pitts at which time she appointed Bennie Coleman Alumni Chairman under the direction of Lucille Gaines, the State Alumni Chairman, who is now deceased.

In 1985, Kathleen Johnson-Pitts, who was the City of Akron I.C.U.A. President, saw fit to appoint Marguerite Dowdell as Alumni Chairman. She served in this position until 1999.

There have been only five Alumni Chairmen of the City of Akron I.C.U.A.; Rosa White, Bennie Coleman, Marguerite Dowdell, Renatta Robinson and Anita Barnett. Anita Barnett is serving at this time under the leadership of Annie Clark, City of Akron I.C.U.A. President.

Akron has had six National Ushers of the year Mattie Stinson, Kathleen Johnson-Pitts, James L. Fears, Marguerite Dowdell, Edith Price and Renatta Robinson. AKron had six Ushers of the Year for the State of Ohio; James L. Fears, Kathleen Johnson-Pitts, Marguerite Dowdell, Edith Price, Renatta Robinson and Mattie Stinson.

In 1998-1999, Ruby Avent received second place for the Book of Seven.

The domain may be for sale. Please click here to inquire